Welcome to Albany Fund for Education


Gala Online here.


Last year’s gala reception was held on Thursday, November 13 at Wolferts Roost Country Club.  This year Bill Corbett, President of the Capital District Sponsor-A-Scholar, was honored for his ongoing efforts to support students from underserved backgrounds graduate from high school and have a successful college career.  Grassroot Givers is an organization founded by Mary Partridge-Brown and Roberta Sandler that has worked with over 100 teachers to provide over 15,000 books to students.  In addition, Grassroot Givers provides an ongoing avenue for students to give back to our community. Funds raised also support a Northeast Regional Food Bank weekend food program that provides students with backpacks of food to tackle the problem of childhood hunger within our school district.  In addition, funds continue to support AFE’s ongoing programs, including innovative grants, environmental education, mentoring, literacy, arts and more.  Every dollar raised has a direct educational impact.

2014 Sponsors

CSEA Local 10000
Girvin & Ferlazzo
Gleason, Dunn, Walsh & O’Shea
Howard and Fern Peterson
Capital Region Sponsor-A-Scholar
College of St. Rose
NYS United Teachers
Dr. Mark Barth & Sylvia Pirani
Charles & Charlotte Buchanan
Ann Gifford
Hudson Valley Community College
Denise & Ted Kolankowski
Onnolee & Larry Smith
Lee & Varada Vaughan
University at Albany
SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher

Hon. Sue Adler, Sheryl & Steve Baum, George Benson, Hon. Kenneth Bruce, Hon. Richard Conti, Susan D’Entremont & John Jones, Hon. Judy Doesschate, Hon. Dan Egan, Hon. Leif Engstrom, Anne Erling, Hon. Catherine M. Fahey, Hon. Patricia Fahy, Dr. Maxine Fantroy-Ford, Hon. Ginnie Farrell, Jason Gough, Hon. Jerry Jennings, Hon. Noelle Kinsch & Hon. Darius Shahinfar, Ron Lesko
, Annette Nanes & Scott Meyer, Bernie Mulligan & Pat Harmon, Karen & Chet Opalka, 
Ellen A. Picotte
, John Rozett, 
Ellen Sax, 
Hon. Kathy & Bob Sheehan, 
Ken & Marggie Skinner
, Theresa & Carl Swidorski
, Mario & 
Carolyn Peterson-Vaccaro, Theresa Vaughan & David Cherubin
, Dr. Marguerite Vanden Wyngaard, Barry Walston
, Dr. Bob Wishnoff
, Emma R. Wolfe
, Margot Plumadore- Wyan

2013 Sponsors

2012 Sponsors

Summa Cum Laude:

CS Arch

Cum Laude:

Todd Foxx / Maiden Lane of Albany
Girvan & Ferlazzo, PC
Gleason, Dunn, Walsh & O’Shea
NY State United Teachers
Howard and Fern Peterson

Honor Roll:

Sue and Alan Adler
Armlin, Damon & McMordie
Capital Region Sponsor-a-Scholar, Inc.
College of St. Rose
Key Bank Foundation
Learner First

Honorary Committee:

Albany Public Schools Administrators’ Association, Albany Public Schools Teachers’ Association, Mark Barth & Sylvia Pirani, Steve & Sheryl Baum, George Benson & Michelle Atallah, Charles & Charlotte Buchannan, Hon. Ron Canestrari, Hon. Richard Conti, Ronald & Linda Dunn, Dan Egan, Hon. Leif Engstrom, Hon. Catherine M. Fahey, Patricia Fahy & Wayne Bequette, Hon. Ginnie Farrell, Ann Gifford, John Henly, Christine Holle, Pamela Howell, Hon. Gerald Jennings, Dr. Maggie Kirwin, Ted & Denise Kolankowski, Bryan LaVigne, Hon. Edith Leet, Ron Lesko, Bernie Mulligan & Pat Harmon, Annette Nanes & Scott Meyer, Fred Newdom, Bill & Karen Phillips, Margot Plumadore & Joshua Wyan, Richard Propp, M.D., Raymond Schimmer CEO Parsons, John M. Rozett, Kathleen L. Ryan, Gerald R. Shaye, Bob & Hon. Kathy Sheehan, Ken & Margie Skinner, Onnolee & Larry Smith, Hon. Alexandra Streznewski & Robert T. Reilly, Theresa & Carl Swidorski, Susan Thompson & Al DeSalvo, Mario & Carolyn Vaccaro, Theresa Vaughan & David Cherubin, Lee & Varada Vaughan, Barry D. Walston, Bob & Deb Ward, Dr. Robert Wishnoff, Shelley Zansky

Silent Auction and Services

Albany Dermatology, Albany High School Theatre Ensemble, Jewish Community Center, APSAA, Albany Symphony, Albany Tennis Club, Barcelona’s, Steve Baum, Charles Buchanan, Book House, Bountiful Bread, Mary Campagna, Jeff Caulfield, Caffe Italia, Creo  , Davey Jones Locker, Deerso Corporation, EDK Auto, Theresa Girzone, Ann Gifford, Maureen Goldman, Ichiban, Kay Fuller Mindful Movements, Living Resources, Anita Medina Carnelian, Mahar’s, Mary Campagna, MicroKnowledge, Mr. Fuji Sushi, Music Studio, Orchard , Park Playhouse, The Fountain, The Point, Sage Colleges, Sapienza’s, Onnolee and Larry Smith, Shutter Speed Photo, Starbucks, Spectrum Theatre, Theresa Swidorski, Taste, Touchstone Ceramic, Uncommon Grounds, Theresa Vaughan, Carolyn and Mario Vaccaro, V Salon, Yoga Loft

2011 Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors 
CS Arch 

Girvin Ferlazzo, PC 
Gleason,Dunn,Walsh & O’Shea 
Todd Fox/Maiden Lane Parking 

Howard and Fern Peterson 
New York State United Teachers 
The College of St. Rose 
Key Bank 
Bob & Dale Ward 
Armlin, Damon & McMordie 

Lee and Varada Vaughan 
Carolyn & Mario Vaccaro 
Parsons Child and Family Center 
Alan & Sue Adler

2010 Sponsors

Albany Public School Administrators Association
Albany Public School Teachers Association
Armlin, Damon & McMordie
Capital District Physician's Health Plan
College Of St. Rose
CS Arch
Todd Fox/ Maiden Lane Parking
Girvin, Ferlazzo, PC
Gleason Dunn Walsh & O'Shea
Eva Joseph, Ed.D and Dr. Bob Whisnoff
Keybank National Association
Kathleem and Jack Mrozak
National Education Association
Chester and Karen Opalka
Parsons Family and Children's Center
Howard and Fern Peterson
​Price Chopper's Golub Foundation
State Employee Federated Credit Union
Stewart's Shops
Lee and Varada Pandya Vaughan
Bob and Deb Ward

AFE is most appreciative of our donors for the silent auction, wine and restaurant certificates. Please contact AFE if you wish to participate in the future.

Grants links Students performing in a play